What is the Fine For Not Having a Dog License in California?
In California, the fine for not having a dog license is $100. If you are late with your license renewal, there is a $20 fine. If a city official finds your dog without a license, you face a $25 citation. Additionally, owners of unlicensed dogs may be required to pay a late penalty equal to the cost of the license.
A dog license is required in California by all dog owners. The fee for a license is $25 and the license must be renewed every year. If you are caught without a license, you will face a fine.
California Dog License Laws
Dogs over the age of 5 months must be licensed within 30 days of acquisition, or within 30 days after entering Contra Costa County. The cost of the license is far less than the penalty for being caught without one. If a city official finds your dog without a license, you face a $100 fine. If your dog ends up at our campus and is licensed, your fees will be less.
If an unlicensed and unaltered dog (running at large) is brought to our animal care center, the owner will be fined $200 per dog in addition to the cost of licensing, spaying/neutering, and rabies vaccination. Failure to license your dog by 4 months of age, or within 30 days of acquiring ownership, is a violation of City law. Failure to do so will result in a fine ranging from $50-$150 per dog. Also, if your pet becomes lost, a license tag increases the chances that
Penalties for Not Having a Dog License
If you are caught without a dog license in California, you could face a fine of up to $250. In addition, some cities consider owning an unlicensed dog to be a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.
How to Obtain a Dog License in California
Dogs over the age of 5 months must be licensed within 30 days of acquisition, or within 30 days after entering Contra Costa County. The license fee is $20 for each dog. A late fee of $20 will be assessed on all licenses which have not been purchased or renewed within 30 days from the time of notice.
You can obtain a dog license by bringing a completed application and proof of rabies vaccination to the Contra Costa County Animal Services Department.
Reasons Why You Might Not Need a Dog License
The cost of the license is far less than the penalty for being caught without one. If a city official finds your dog without a license, you face a fine of up to $250. To license your dog, you must have proof – usually from a veterinarian – that your dog is current on his rabies vaccination. The license fee also helps support animal control and shelters. If everyone licensed their dogs, there would be fewer strays and abandoned dogs in need of homes.
Unfortunately, the balance of your license fee goes to the state’s general fund and not directly to animal shelters or control agencies. And, in some areas of California, the money from dog licenses is used to support spaying and neutering programs instead of going towards animal shelters or control. So, if you are opposed to spaying and neutering animals, you might choose not to license your dog as a way of protest.
Other Requirements for Dogs in California
Dogs over the age of 5 months must be licensed within 30 days of acquisition, or within 30 days after entering Contra Costa County. The above noted are the only requirements for licensing your dog in California.
There are a few other requirements that owners should be aware of:
1. All dogs must be vaccinated against rabies and to have a current dog license.
2. If a pet’s license becomes lost, a replacement license may be purchased by submitting a check for $5 to the county treasurer’s office.
3. Dogs must have a renewed license each year, which can be done online or by mail. We will honor up to one year of the valid license.
If your dog is unlicensed you can be cited and fined. Even indoor-only dogs in fenced yards get loose sometimes – help us get them home safely by licensing them! Failure to
Not having a dog license in California can lead to a fine of up to $500. It is important to make sure your dog is up to date on its vaccinations and licensing in order to avoid any potential penalties.